This morning Brent and I, Nicholas, Taylor, Gaubri and Shakur, rose early to attend early service at 8:30 and Sunday school together.  We heard a very thought provoking sermon on what patriotism looks like for a christian.  We got home in time to make some homemade makaruni for lunch.  I used the Lidia’s recipe that Taylor and I had learned when we took a cooking class together but it is really easy. Every time I make homemade pasta I tell myself we should do it more.  The recipe is here and there is even another recipe and a pictorial demonstration at Cooking Light.  I had some red chard from the Door to Door Organics delivery earlier in the week that I needed to use up so I searched for red chard recipes yesterday.  I settled on the Chard-Tomato Peasant Pasta sauce to eat with our Makaruni.  We have also made the wild mushroom sauce that is included with the Lidia’s recipe and it is delicious, even those that did not like mushrooms were loving it.

