Outside in Kansas City~It is a cold 25 degrees in Kansas City today with a high of 40 expected.  The forecast for the next four days is not hopeful-rain followed by snow, snow, snow and highs in the 30’s.  I am most definitely ready for spring…even better bring summer on.

I am thinking~Probably too much lately, that is when I get into trouble.  Maybe it is the proverbial “midlife crisis”  I say proverbial not biblical, as we well know, but depressing at the very least.  I was just trying to share in an understandable way at Bible study last night how disappointing it is to reach middle age and not be where you had hoped when you were young.  I just wanted & want to learn so much, to grow in the Lord and to feel progress instead of disappointment in my life.  One of the best ways to combat these depressing thoughts is to get into the Word of God and see what He thinks.  Another great thing to do, even when you least want it, is to surround yourself with other believers that will point you to the Word and help you apply it to your life.  This sanctification, becoming more and more like Christ (pure & holy) , is a process which can appear to us in our earthly timelines to be soooo slow as to not exist. Especially when we experience those situations that make us feel so inadequate and ill-prepared.

II Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed way; behold, all things have become new.”

II Corinthians 3:5,6 “Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think of anything as being from ourselves, but our sufficiency is from God, who also made us sufficient as ministers of the new covenant, not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives live.”

Ephesians 2:10 “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.”

Psalm 139:17,18 “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; When I awake, I am still with You.”

I am thankful for~The love and support of my family, the amazing creation of the Earth that God has blessed us with, the hope of Heaven, and the opportunity to minister to “hurt children.”

In my kitchen~Dishwasher is running…few cereal bowls in the sink.  I love my wonderful new stove that my mom bought us for Christmas, it is perfect.

I am wearing~Grey pinstriped slacks, black lacy blouse with lightweight black jacket over, and black boots.

Last creative endeavor~ I actually felt so optimistic recently that I pulled out some old cross stitch projects and worked on them.  Let’s see when I get back to it…

I am going~To meet my daughter, Alicia, and her kids, Brendan and Lillian, at McDonalds today so we can visit and the kids can take advantage of the Playland to burn off some energy. 

Can’t wait for~ Nicholas and Staci to visit this weekend.  Nancy Thomas seminar this month.  Weekend away with my husband next month at the Strong Families Couples Retreat in Wichita.

Family News~Our three year old foster son is going to start visits with his biological mom.  Please keep this sweet boy in your prayers, he has already been through so much.

Current Read~The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, Her Hand in Marriage:  Biblical Courtship in the Modern World by Douglas Wilson, More Hours in My Day by Emilie Barnes (again), The Weight of Grace:  Experiencing the Freedom from Overeating that You Already Have by Paula Neall Coleman

I am hearing~Blessed peace and quiet with all the kids currently at school. 

I am hoping~That things will be calmer after basketball season ends and I will get my husband back.

Around the house~I have a long list of projects that I had hoped to already get started on .  If I could ever get the necessities caught up.

Simple pleasure~A day with the Faith Christian Academy secondary students at their yearly Protocol event.  This year they had etiquette training at UMKC, rode in limos to Figlio’s Italian Restaurant  and had a wonderful reception before a delicious five course meal.   We were then taken by limo back to UMKC to the theater where we saw Around the World in Eighty Days and it was just wonderful.

