You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 18, 2008.

Yes, I am trying to do at least a post a day, only during this four week period don’t worry and the great thing about this is you don’t have to read if you don’t want to. 

Yesterday was more of the same as far as more taxiing of my wonderful sons, more household upkeep such as laundry, and more odd and ends of organizing, I worked through two junk drawers. I took off the handles from my front storm door sanded and repainted them, one of those little irritants that you never seem to have time for.  It took about 30 minutes total and no money, we even had the right paint. 

Dinner:  For dinner we had pork roast marinated in olive oil, garlic, onion powder, black pepper and then baked, sweet potatoes and salad.

Movie:  Usually this would be a recommendation but instead it’s a warning.  I rented (free thank goodness) a movie called “My Mom’s New Boyfriend” starring Meg Ryan and Antonio Banderas.  It was pretty awful and I would not recommend it for anyone. I watched it while I did a couple of other things so at least I did not waste any time on it.

 Tips from Emilie:  Here is the list of things for the car I made from Emilie Barnes’ book.  I will be working on gathering/purchasing the ones that I feel our family will need. As much time as we spend in the car I think most would apply.

  • Flashlight
  • Maps
  • Can Opener
  • Change
  • Reading Material
  • Jumper Cables
  • Business Cards (your own, which she recommends for everyone)
  • First Aid Kit
  • Matches
  • Pens/Pencils
  • Paper/Stationary
  • Blanket
  • Towel
  • Scissors
  • Rope
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • Flares

Prayer Requests:  I personally know of several people in the hospital right now.  Norma Humbard is Susan Verstraete’s mother.  She is 74 and had been the picture of health until last week when she suffered a heart attack and a  massive stroke.  Susan is a beautiful testimony during this time and if you go visit her you may walk away feeling you were the comforted instead of the comforter.  Please be praying for this family as they make daily decisions regarding care.

Donna Eames was admitted to North Kansas City Hospital with Diverticulitis a few days ago as well.  Lots of pain and discomfort.  It was God’s Providence and a concerned husband that got her care as  quickly as she did.  Please pray that surgery will not be necessary to deal with this condition. 

Linda Denny recently had a planned surgery that went well.  Please pray that her recovery time will be short and that her family is able to cope well while she is limited in what she can contribute.

 

June 2008
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.